"If you are looking for a place that is secluded with an abundance of wildlife this is it! We have stressfull jobs and this is just what was needed to recharge....the Carvers are excellent hosts. We would recommend this to enyone who is looking for a bit of PARADISE!!" (Airbnb)

     - Michael (April 2017) 5-Star Review

"Dan's cabin was perfect for our girls hiking weekend. Greeted us with fun snacks on the table and a ton of water in the fridge. It had everything we needed and was a beautiful setting. The cabin was super clean and well stocked. We hiked and checked out a few wineries but always ended at the cabin for our dinner. Enjoyed our stay." (Airbnb)

     - Susan (June 2017) 5-Star Review

"The pictures are true. A great place for a weekend in the country." (VRBO)

     - Ray E. (October 2018) 5-Star Review

We had a great weekend getaway. Pictures and words don’t do it justice. The home itself is very cute, updated and clean. The property is absolutely gorgeous. (VRBO)

     - Matthew (June 2020) 5-Star Review

"Unforeseen circumstances cut our trip short, but we will be back again. Carver Lake Lodge is one our favorite places to stay." (AirBNB)

     - Shannon (October 2019) 5-Star Review

"Great place! My wife and I enjoyed the walks around the lake and waterfall. The cabin was stocked well and very comfortable. We loved the view out the large windows. We also appreciated the privacy. Dan was also very quick to answer our questions. We have recommended this cabin to our family as a great place for the summer." (VRBO)

     - Daniel H. (January 2020) 5-Star Review

"Dan's place is amazing. We rented both places so Grandma and the nephews could come. We had the whole propery to ourselves. What a blast! Great lake that stays cool all summer. Amazing stars at this place, enjoy them on the dock after dinner. Roasted marshmallows by the fire. Caught fish off the dock with the kids. Close to a great conservation area" (AirBNB)

     - Justin (August 2019) 5-Star Review

"Great place to fish and get away from the city. Cell service is almost non-existent, which was actually a nice break." (Airbnb)

     - Brian (March 2017) 5-Star Review

"We absolutely loved our time at this cabin! We were able to truly unplug and relax. The fishing was great and the scenery was stunning! Would definitely recommend this to others and we hope to come back for another visit in the future!" (Airbnb)

     - Chena (April 2017) 5-Star Review

"We loved our stay so much we booked an extra night! The view from the house could never get old. The house was well stocked and felt like home. The bath towels were the softest and best I have ever used! Fishing was great as well. The owner was helpful too. There is also a cute little creek with clear, cold flowing water that our family enjoyed playing in. Its along both sides of one of the roads leading to the property. All in all it was a quiet, serene 3 days that our family will never forget. Highly recommend you stay here!" (VRBO)

     - Ashley B. (July 2017) 5-Star Review

"If your looking for a family trip that will center the family back to the heart or looking for a place that is a romantic get away this has it all! The location is close enough to great winery's. Or stay on the property and bring your ATVs or fishing gear and kick back and enjoy! The cash cabin was beautiful! The beds were so comfy! Dan also has tons of water and munches for us upon arrival. What a kind gesture. We did cool hike and swam in the lake. It was amazing to listen to the owls talk in the morning while we had coffee and built a great s'mores fire. We can't wait to come back!" (Airbnb)

     - Art (September 2017) 5-Star Review

Property was beautiful, lake house was clean and well maintained. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Dan Jr. was extremely friendly and helpful, provided an excellent tour and history of the property. He went out of his way to make sure we felt welcome. We had a blast fishing, swimming and hiking. The property offers so much to enjoy and provides an awesome experience for individuals and family alike. We hope to plan another stay in the near future. Thanks so much for the great experience! (VRBO)

     - Huntter (June 2020) 5-Star Review

"This vacation rental is amazing! The owners really went out of their way to make this a comfortable home away from home. They provided a well stocked kitchen with plenty of bottled water and a basket of goodies including s'mores! Wood for the camp fire, a log in the fireplace, and more! Plus, excellent air conditioning and washer and dryer! If you are into fishing.... It's not really fair to describe it as fishing. More like "catching"! I got up every morning and landed 20 bass within an hour! They are fighters too! The property has amazing wildlife.. from our porch we saw beavers, eagles, armadillo, and amazing birds. The farm is totally secluded and all 80+ acres are fenced and gated. We enjoyed the hiking trails in the woods and the beautiful waterfall as well! We highly recommend this vacation rental and we can thank the owners enough for an amazing get away! We can't wait to come back!" (VRBO)

     - Scott R. (May 2018) 5-Star Review

"Kids had a great time" (AirBNB)

     - Laura (June 2019) 5-Star Review

"Our family enjoyed the clean well stocked house, beautiful lake, excellent trails, and fun paddle boat. Also met the owners Dad who gave us a long tour and history of the property. The owners really do care that your vist is better than expected." (VRBO)

     - William H. (July 2018) 5-Star Review

"We LOVED it here! I came with my husband and our 3 children ages 1,8, and 12. The photos don't even do it justice. The lake is so gorgeous and we spent hours on end at the waterfall and playing in the creek. We caught many fish, made s'mores, and spent tons of time soaking up the sun. It's a trip I will never forget. We hope to come back soon. Also, I must add that Dan and his father were EXTREMELY helpful and accommodating. When we got here it was storming extremely bad and it caused the house to loose power. They helped us in every way that they could until the power came back on. We are extremely grateful to have had them as hosts. HIGHLY RECOMMEND to anyone trying to relax and enjoy nature." (Airbnb)

     - Michelle (May 2017) 5-Star Review

"Was looking for a secluded weekend getaway, this fit the bill perfectly! Classic lake chalet on a gorgeous property, lots of wildlife, trails, peace and quiet." (Airbnb)

     - Taylor (September 2017) 5-Star Review

Testimonials


 We pride ourselves on trying to give our guests the best experience possible.  Even though we are a smallfamily operation, we want you to appreciate the Carver Lake Lodge as much as we do.  Here are some testimonials from our previous guests.  We appreciate every one of them! Unlike other websites, these are actual testimonials copied word for word from the VRBO and Airbnb websites.  They are unfiltered, honest, genuine, and unedited.


"Our stay was beyond expectations! The lake was beautiful and fun to fish. We enjoyed catching bass and seeing deer during our stay. The owners provided so many extras including charcoal for the grill and plenty of bottled water. The lake view was so nice as well. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys fishing and the outdoors!" (VRBO)

     - Kim H.(July 2019) 5-Star Review

"I highly recommend this place. Can't wait to go back!" (VRBO)

     - Jessica M. (October 2017) 5-Star Review

"Great location to REALLY get away from it ALL! We aren't even that outdoorsy and loved it. If they rain would have stopped we could have done more...we even bought some fishing equipment and really only had about 15 minutes with no rain. We watched FUN old shows and movies that they had there, read, and ate! Fun to go to Stonie's Sausage Shop! We bought all different kind of brats! Wanted to visit the Shrine of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal but it was closed due to water damage. We will definitely come back maybe in the Fall." (Airbnb)

     - Carole (April 2017) 5-Star Review

"We had an awesome weekend at Dan’s place. Our family rented both houses on the property and had so much fun swimming/lounging on dock, playing in our kayaks, fishing, campfires, and a day trip to Amidon shut ins. The house was nice and clean and we made a pact to do this every year! We will definitely return!" (AirBNB)

     - Jessie (August 2019) 5-Star Review

This was our second time to this little lake house. We floated around, swam, hiked to the waterfall, and spotted two bald eagles. The house is great, with nice furnishings. The dock is great. (VRBO)

     - Jeanne (May 2020) 5-Star Review

"Very cute and well kept cabin! Everything was very clean and well stocked. The owner was super nice and helpful as well. We spent majority of our time exploring and hiking around the lake. The views are breathtaking! I could never get tired of waking up to the sunrise here. There's no cell service, but we loved being able to disconnect for a bit! The drive to the Castor River Shut Ins is worth the short time in the car. Definitely a must if you visit this area! We absolutely loved it here! We couldn't have asked for a better stay! Thank you so much to the Carver's!" (VRBO)

     - Olivia C. (July 2017) 5-Star Review

"A group of high school friends and I set up a weekend every year to hang out relax and get away from it all. This is the perfect spot! I can’t recommend it enough!" (AirBNB)

     - John (June 2019) 5-Star Review

"Our trip started out very wet and involved a downed tree. It wasn't looking promising. But with Dan Jr. and Dan III as our hosts and saviors with calling the electric company we had an absolutely fabulous time. Their farm is just what our family needed. Time away from the hustle and bustle and electronics of life. We all agreed we didn't want to leave and have agreed to schedule another very long weekend or week at the farm." (Airbnb)

     - Sharon (May 2017) 5-Star Review

"This home is located on a private lake. The house itself is well furnished and beautiful. My kids (ages 15 and 10) loved being outside as well as playing games in the house. We had a very relaxing time. Dan's house is well stocked with water, kitchen supplies, toiletries, towels, and bedding. Overall, we recommend this home to couples or even families. We had a great time and plan on returning again." (Airbnb)

     - Lynne (August 2017) 5-Star Review

"We had a wonderful stay at the Taylor Lodge in July. The cabin is very well taken care of and exceptionally clean. The beds were comfortable. The upstairs where the queen bed is located, is a loft open to the downstairs. The cabin is near the water with a small dock, and a short walk through grass (or drive) to the larger swim dock and boat entrance. We saw deer, an armadillo and lots of birds. We loved having a camp fire and making smores by the lake. We highly recommend renting the boats which made the lake more enjoyable. The bass, while small, were biting during our stay. The water was clean and the dock has a ladder to climb up. We were the only ones at the property during our stay, but if the other cabin was rented you would share the swim dock. The water level was low, so no waterfall, but it would be stunning if the water level was higher. The trails were a little overgrown and maybe more for ATVs than hiking, but we did venture out on them. The whole property is beautiful and well taken care of. There is a small creek nearby that the kids enjoyed walking through and catching crawdads. We also greatly enjoyed the Castor River Shut-ins. One word of caution is that the roads are very curvy and arriving in daylight would be beneficial if not familiar with the area." (VRBO)

     - Anonymous (July 2018) 5-Star Review

My family and I so enjoyed our weekend getaway to gorgeous Carver Lake Lodge! Everything about the location and amenities was just perfect. A clean and well kept gem. Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Date of arrival - July 18, 2020(VRBO)

     - Andrea (July 2020) 5-Star Review

"The lodge was perfect and the private lake was beautiful! We had a couples weekend getaway and couldn't have asked for a better time! The waterfall was gorgeous and the fishing was great! We definitely can't wait to come back again in the future!Type your paragraph here." (VRBO)

     - Wendy B. (June 2017) 5-Star Review

After COVID-19 cancelled our plans for the weekend we decided on a spur-of-the-moment getaway. This place absolutely did not disappoint! The lake was so serene and the house was clean and cozy. We are already planning to return the next time we need a weekend away! (VRBO)

     - Ann (June 2020) 5-Star Review

We had a relaxing stay at Cash lodge. The cabin is beautiful, the deck is a good size, and it is close to the dock and the path to the waterfall. We brought kayaks and thoroughly enjoyed the lake. (AirBNB)

     - Jennifer (July 2020) 5-Star Review

"The property is gorgeous! We enjoyed sitting on the dock fishing and swimming in the lake. The seating on the dam was perfectly placed to watch the sunset each night. There are trails in the woods and plenty of property to ride and play on. We rented both houses on the property, both were stocked with everything you needed for the weekend including cute little snack baskets on the tables as a welcome gift. I would definitely recommend checking the place out!" (AirBNB)

     - Lexi (May 2019) 5-Star Review

"Dan’s cabin is amazing! Great proximity to the lake and tons of space to explore and relax! There is fantastic fishing off the dock (plenty of bass, bluegills and minnows to be caught) and exploring the beautiful waterfall is a must. I would also recommended renting one of Dan’s boats so you can explore the entire lake! A fantastic experiences that my family and I enjoyed and look forward to having again." (AirBNB)

     - Tahmid (May 2020) 5-Star Review

We had a fantastic couple of days here. The house is extremely clean (supplies are the latest approved for COVID 19) and well stocked. The grounds and lake were so beautiful and well maintained as well. We had a blast paddling around the lake, splashing in the stream and waterfall, and lounging on the dock and deck. One night was stormy (amazing view of the storm!), and we had a cozy night in with their good stash of movies on DVDs to choose from. One thing to be aware of: Being off the internet was great for a day, but our phones had a pretty unreliable signal We use AT&T, but Dan said Verizon works fine for them at the house. Dan and his family have built a little slice of heaven in the woods, and their passion for the land and their guest's experiences shows. Thanks for your work and hospitality! (VRBO)

     - Kerry (July 2020) 5-Star Review

"Lovely cabin that overlooks a beautiful lake. We were able to unwind and relax. I just wished the weather would have cooperated because it rained every day. We had a few questions and the owners were great to work with! We would definitely stay again." (VRBO)

     - Amy B. (March 2018) 5-Star Review

"Dan's place is super cute. Very clean. Great lake for fishing and floating around in the sun." (Airbnb)

     - Jeanne (July 2017) 5-Star Review

"This is a great getaway spot for exploring, fishing and quiet. Wonderful hosts offer everything you need to have a lovely vacation." (Airbnb)

     - Mandy (March 2017) 5-Star Review

"We came upon the Carver Lake Lodge while searching for a place that was a reasonable driving distance from both Chicago and St. Louis. We were hoping for a beautiful place that centers nature and seclusion in this time of COVID-19. The Taylor Lodge was the perfect lakeside A-frame to spend our first wedding anniversary. Spotless, thoughtfully stocked, with the option to rent boats for fishing on the lake. The property was beautiful and private, and we were lucky to receive an impromptu tour of the grounds from the owner. He was a wonderful host and storyteller, and we loved hearing about the backstory of the land & lake. We will definitely be back!" (AirBNB)

     - Rachel (July 2020) 5-Star Review

"This place is amazing! It has everything you need (and more). It is clean and beautifully decorated. We fished in the lake, hiked the trails and enjoyed the rural surroundings." (Airbnb)

     - Kathie (November 2017) 5-Star Review

CARVER LAKE LODGE

"Gorgeous area with lots to do. We hiked on the far side of the lake, tried our hand at fishing and played games inside on the inclement weather days. A drive/hike to the Castor River shut-ins was well worth the brief time in the car." (VRBO)

     - Kyler J. (March 2017) 5-Star Review

"Beautiful & clean lodge with an amazing view of the lake! My family had a great time, paddle boating, fishing, and relaxing by the waterfall. We would definitely rent again." (AirBNB)

     - Adam (February 2020) 5-Star Review

"This property was awesome! My husband, two boys, and one-year-old daughter took a trip to the country to get away from the city. The house sits on a beautiful lake and the view is awesome. The boys were able to step right outside and go fishing at anytime of day. The waterfall was better than we even imagined, and the hiking trails were great too! Dan was very responsive anytime I had any questions, and was very hospitable supplying us with a warm welcome of tasty treats. I would highly suggest this property for anyone who wants to escape the city and get some peace in the country!" (Airbnb)

     - Cassie (March 2017) 5-Star Review

"Dan's home was very comfortable and well-appointed. We had everything we needed to grill and cook other meals. The lake and surrounding property are beautiful (even during the rainy weekend of our stay) and we enjoyed hiking around and exploring. In addition, Dan was great in helping us get our reservation set up at the last minute due to a change in our plans." (Airbnb)

     - Adrienne (April 2017) 5-Star Review

"We loved our stay at Cash Lodge! Beautiful private property lots of amenities and extra touches like snacks and necessities for cooking as well as a pre-built fire- ready to go. We hiked, swam and fished in the lake and roasted marshmallows and admired the stars far from the city lights. Wonderful communication and eager to accommodate any requests. We’ve stayed in both Taylor and Cash lodge and loved them both!" (AirBNB)

     - Jessica (September 2019) 5-Star Review

Our big summer vacation was cancelled due to COVID-19. We decided to turn lemons into lemonade and find a place as far away from others as possible. Carver Lake did not disappoint! The Taylor Lodge is such a fun, unique cabin. We had a great time hiking both the property and local trails. We played in the creek and watched sunsets over the lake. Having the comforts of home after a full day of exploring was much needed. Casual decor, lots of natural lighting, plenty of fans. Loved all the windows, the deck and the VIEW! (VRBO)

     - Heather (June 2020) 5-Star Review

"Cabin was wonderful. Enjoyed the lake and the waterfall. We will be back." (VRBO)

     - Shannon M. (June 2019) 5-Star Review

"If you look at the pictures, read the description and think to yourself, "This is too good to be true"; you're wrong...its true! If we could give more than 5 stars we would! The house is immaculate, updated, clean and a perfect size for our family of five. You can't even see the other house and the lake is big enough to where you don't have to ever go near the other family. The property is just amazing! The hiking trails are wide and well groomed and weave throughout the acreage. The lake is clean, warm and refreshing. During our stay we did it all: hiked, swam, fished, used the paddle boat, played games, watched the stars, etc. Dan was extremely helpful answering all our questions prior to arrival and even some fishing follow up questions during our stay. The ride into town, although about 20 minutes, is a winding scenic drive with nature and wildlife galore. This was definitely one of our family's favorite stays!" (VRBO)

     - Brad V. (August 2018) 5-Star Review

Carver Lake Lodge is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay. Both cabins are well appointed and the lake is well stocked with fish. We brought kayaks and had a great time out on the lake. (AirBNB)

     - Jennifer (July 2020) 5-Star Review

"Stayed at this stunningly beautiful property with my kids for a week. Excellent host and great communication. The house was very nice with tons of extra linens. Snack basket was greatly appreciated after a long drive from WI. Make sure to visit the Castor river shut ins which is a short drive from the property. We had a great time! Thank you for everything! Highly recommend renting this peaceful country place!" (VRBO)

     - Elizabeth L. (July 2018) 5-Star Review

"Very nice place, All 5 of us had plenty of room and the house was very clean. We all enjoyed the trails and enjoyed fishing. Our kids loved it, would definitely recommend! Thank you Carver family!" (VRBO)

     - Douglas M. (August 2018) 5-Star Review

"This cabin was just what our family needed for a quick spring break trip. The cabin itself was in great shape, everything was clean and comfortable. The extra attention to details made everything more enjoyable - firewood, bottled water for the city folk, the basket of welcome goodies on the table. We went on a few hikes that were well worth the drive. The first was to the Castor River Shut Ins and the second was to Pickle Springs. We also brought our own kayak and paddled around the lake on that and the paddle boat, despite some pretty frosty temperatures. The private waterfall is beautiful and those who were willing to risk their shoes getting wet crossed the spillway to walk the trails on the other side. As with most places in the country, do plan to arrive in the daylight." (VRBO)

     - Elizabeth C. (April 2018) 5-Star Review

"Dan’s place was amazing!!! It was very quiet, clean & beautiful. We will definitely be returning this summer!" (AirBNB)

     - Tiffany and Tim (May 2019) 5-Star Review

"Absolutely beautiful property. Secluded and private. The property and lodging was very well kept and clean. Good communication with Dan and no complaints! Thanks for a great time." (Airbnb)

     - Kayla (June 2017) 5-Star Review

"Very nice and peaceful place to visit... Thanks a bunch!!" (VRBO)

     - Lawrence O. (April 2018) 5-Star Review

"This place is even more breathtaking than the photos. What an absolute dream stay, with a truly thoughtful host. Every amenity you could have needed is provided, and we felt completely at home for the whole stay. It was difficult to leave this paradise! This spot is a must-visit, you won’t regret it!" (AirBNB)

     - Jesse (September 2019) 5-Star Review